South Sudan becomes 192nd member country

06.10.2011 - The UPU welcomes the Republic of South Sudan as a new member country.

South Sudan officially became the 192nd country to join the UPU this week. Its membership became effective on 4 October 2011.

The new country gained membership following an official government request and declaring its accession to the Constitution and the Acts of the Union.

As a prerequisite for UPU membership, South Sudan first became the 193rd United Nations member state in July, on the basis of resolution 65/308.

“The Universal Postal Union is pleased to welcome South Sudan as a member of the global postal family,” said its director general, Edouard Dayan. “The postal network is an important infrastructure that helps respond to inhabitants' communication needs as well as a country's socioeconomic development. We will be delighted to work with government and postal officials to help them develop their national postal network and provide technical and regulatory advice.”

Following a referendum on self-determination, the Republic of South Sudan seceded on 9 July 2011, becoming independent from the Republic of Sudan.

South Sudan has 8.26 million inhabitants. It is a federation of ten states, subdivided into 86 counties. It covers around a third of the area of the former unified Sudan.



Comments (1)

  1. Dirk at 19.01.2016
    Test comment.

Write new comment

CAPTCHA image for SPAM prevention If you can't read the word, click here.